The Mind’s Eye.

People have asked me, “What exactly is your writing process?”

For a good while, it was daunting to answer and complicated.

But, I actually sat down and thought about it.

I’ve always listened to instrumental music more so than ‘normal’ songs.  This started because I grew up hearing the classical radio station a lot as a child.

And so, in listening to instrumental music, it provides the backdrop to ‘movies’ in my mind’s eye.

It’s much like when you read a novel, you ‘see’ the action playing out in your mind.

This works the same way, except with music, I’m free to create whatever I want to see. Instead of words, I’m hearing the film score to whatever I chose to picture.

Once I have an idea, and I’m actually writing, I’ll put on music that fits the mood of the scene I’m writing.  I’ve read that this method is used by a few other writers, but I did it even before I thought it was a technique.

I’m going to be writing a version of ‘Hansel and Gretel’, and I’m listening to John Williams’ score to ‘Harry Potter’ for inspiration.

And that, is my writing process.

Write a Comment

